Placeholder canvas

Masterclasses are a critical learning space for Fellows that go beyond technical and disciplinary knowledge; they provide opportunities to meet thought-leaders and practitioners from India and across the world, to learn about their work and the challenges they face as practitioners in different disciplines and domains. These close interactions help Fellows learn about diverse ethical, political, and material complexities while practising in urban contexts. It exposes them to specific domain knowledge that is rooted in years of experience. Masterclasses help to identify and explore professional options and career trajectories.

Masterclasses have been taught by:

  • Ajay Mathur
    (Director General of TERI – The Energy & Resources Institute)
  • Ajay Noronha
    (Cinematographer and Documentary filmmaker)
  • Anand Lakhan
    (Activist, Researcher)
  • Aruna Roy
    (Social activist, professor, union organiser and former civil servant. President, National Federation of Indian Women and founder, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan)
  • Barbara Harriss-White
    (Senior Research Fellow, Area Studies, University of Oxford)
  • Bhargavi Rao
    (Centre for Financial Accountability, Delhi)
  • Chandrashekhar B Bhave
    (Chairman, IIHS and Chairman, Securities and Exchange Board of India – 2008-11)
  • Champaka Rajagopal
    (Principal Urban Designer and Planner, Groupe SCE India)
  • Darshini Mahadevia
    (Professor, Faculty of Planning, CEPT University, Ahmedabad)
  • Deepak Sanan
    (former Additional Chief Secretary, Government of Himachal Pradesh)
  • Dinesh Kumar Mishra
    (Director, MITM Jamshedpur)
  • E-Governance Foundation
  • Harini Nagendra
    (Professor of Sustainability, Azim Premji University, Bengaluru)
  • Leo Saldanha
    (Coordinator/Trustee, Environment Support Group)
  • Main Bhi Dilli Team
  • Nandan Nilekani
    (Chairman, Infosys and former Chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India)
  • Nikhil Dey
    (Social Activist, Mazdoor Kisan Shakti Sangathan, Suchna Evum Rozgar Adhikar Abhiyan and NCPRI)
  • OP Agarwal
    (Chief Executive Officer at WRI: World Resources Institute)
  • Paul Rabe
    (Co-ordinator – Urban Knowledge Network Asia)
  • Paul Divakar and Beena Pallickal
    (National Campaign on Dalit Human Rights)
  • Pushkal Shivam
    (Deputy CEO of Aurangabad Smart City Development Corporation Limited – ASCDCL)
  • Rahul Sami
    (Staff Software Engineer at Google, Former Associate Professor at the School of Information, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
  • Renana Jhabvala
    (National coordinator of the Self-Employed Women’s Association, and Chairperson, SEWA Bharat)
  • Sai Balakrishnan
    (Assistant Professor of Global Urban Inequalities | University of California, Berkeley)
  • Satyaki Raghunath
    (Chief Strategy & Development Officer, Bangalore International Airport Limited)
  • Vijay Kelkar
    (Former Chairman of the XIII Finance Commission, Executive Director, Former Finance Secretary)
  • Vijayan Menon
    (Planning activist, Bengaluru)
  • S.V Ranganath
    (Former Chief Secretary, Government of Karnataka)